IELTS Writing Task 2 - Discussion Essay - Homework effectiveness

Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

home tasks from school and their effects on children

People have different views about the effectiveness of homework in children's educational developments. While some may argue that this is a waste of time and ineffectiveness, I tend to believe that homework do more good than harm.

There are a variety of reasons why some people argue against giving more home exercises to school pupils. Firstly, homework does not improve or enhance children's performance at school. Many institutions have seen no apparent changes as regard to educational outcomes. Taking Finland achievements in education as an example, it is true that this nation is applying no homework programme, the secret behind the success of Finland's school system, which makes them become the most prestigious choice of studying overseas. Secondly, school-time nowadays is extremely long-lasting, which sometimes lead to fatigue, poor performance and even bad behaviour at school. Finally, leisure time and hanging out with school peers is equally as beneficial for students' development as the time spending in classes.

Despite of the arguments mentioned above, I would argue that a specific amount of homework is obviously essential. The main reason is that children can develop and progress entirely at their own pace while solving and handling with schoolwork given to them. This can also be beneficial in terms of applying important knowledge and skills taught in morning lessons. For example, maths definitely encourages school students to improve solving problem ability which can be employed later in the adult life. Having such vital skills on school leavers' CV can definitely impress many university admission officers or business employers.

In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of doing a large amount of exercises at home, it is my firm belief that children can benefit better and fully develop when solving these home tasks.