Dress choice vs work quality in a business

Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Some institutions forced their employees to be well-dressed. However, there are several arguments state that the way people dress is not as important as their quality of work. In my view, both aspects are significant in business field as they can affect company's income.

Since long ago, ones who dress smartly attract more attention and get more respect from society, compared to them who dress casually. This social beliefs is applied in business in order to make good impression to the customers. This case can be found in car exhibitions, for example, where sales propotion girls wear attrective dress to attract people so that they want to purchase the items. Another institution is bank, which makes formal dress a must for their workers to show and gain respect from their customers. Overall, well-dressed workers indirectly help companies to earn money because they can attract and gain respect from societies. However, I believe that work quality has the same importance as appearance.

The employees' quality of work is also a significant point in business. Formal dress limit worker's movement, so that some jobs which need a lot of physical activity such as manual labor, tend to allow their workers to wear casual dress in order to bring the best performance. Mechanics do not have to dress sharply for maintaning and repairing machines as formal dress will interrupt their maneuver so that the repairing act cannot be done properly. People always want best service so that good work performance will gains more customers. Thus, if the labourer cannot perform a good quality work, the company will lose their customer's faith. All in all, working performance also determine successfulness in a business.

To sum up, it is clear that both appearance and capability perform good quality work are extremely important to a business's success. In my opinion, company should make policy which adjust their worker's style of dresses to the types of work so that it will be more beneficial for the business.