IELTS Writing Task 2 (drug addicts should be treated like criminals or patients)

Hi friends, please kindly give me some feedback for this essay...

Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Answer:

Some debate about the criminal acts of drug addicts deserves imprisonment. While rehabilitating them to return to a good lifestyle was a good alternative, considering they were victims who must be saved.

Some argue imprisoning drug addicts was a valued punishment for them but will not change for a better lifestyle. As long as they are imprisoned without any special treatment, it will only make them return to such a habit when they had released from prison. For instance, ex-convicts with drug cases in Jakarta get his freedom after 10 years in prison. Unfortunately, he was stuck again with such a lifestyle, and could not control himself in using drugs. However, the output of the prison cannot counter their pleasure in consuming drugs, even just making them a victim that required to be rehabilitated.

On the one hand, treating drug addicts as patients who must be saved was a very noble wise decision. This is because turning them into a healthy society again is a beneficial solution for drug addicts as true victims. A Singapore artist was proved to be a drug addict and got to the jail with a rehabilitation program. However, he served his sentence with a special program, it was done to eliminate his dependence on drugs. The outcome of this detention period would be very meaningful in his life, because he could be saved from the world of drug addiction, even live normally after he was released from jail.

In conclusion, imprisoning drug users was a valued option as a criminal punishment. However, punishment without any means changes it will be useless. Therefore it also requires some special treatment, even treating them as patients who must be saved is the best wise solution.