Has the ease of preparing food and technologies improved life?

revolutionary change in food consumption

It would be evident that the modern lifestyle is in such a way that it is much different from the lifestyle we once had to follow. In nearly the same way, our eating style has encountered a revolutionary change in the last few decades and therefore, since food is a basic part of our life, as the 20th century advanced, more and more technologies were invented to enable people to cook faster and easier. Although some people may hold the opinion this affair has brought some disadvantages such as lower quality of food and health problems, I still strongly believe that it has improved our lives in many ways.

First of all, the ease of preparing food has avoided the waste of a considerable amount of women's time and contributed to women's economic empowerment. In the olden days, like two hundred years ago, cooking was a time-consuming task which individuals had to spend a lot of their time and energy preparing a meal and especially cooking dominated the time and energy of the average housewife. While those days there were no big grocery stores where families could go to purchase food, and eating out was truly a rare treat, usually possible only when traveling, the advent of modern methods of preparing and preserving food has notably lightened the heavy burden of cooking for women which provide them with more spare time and peace of mind, and therefore lead to an increase in the number of working wives.

Apart from the point I made above, when we think back what we ate today, yesterday, three days ago or even last year, we realize nowadays how different the food on our plates is. While prior to refrigeration, storing food for more than a few days would often lead to food spoiling and becoming inedible, today it allows us to store food for days and even months and enjoy a wide variety of food which belongs to different seasons and different countries. Research clearly shows that a variety of foods is the key to getting all the necessary nutrients which can help to reduce the risk of certain types of disease. Furthermore, with the aid of refrigerators and freezers, now meals can be prepared in bulk and stored for later consumption or prepared in a location that is more profitable rather than on-site preparation at extra cost. It is really wonderful to always have food available and to be able to eat completely different meals every day.

Additionally, when food is easier to prepare, it has the potential to allow families to spend more quality time together instead of taking too much time preparing meals. Spending quality time with family does help in coping with challenges, instill a feeling of security, inculcate family values, fill kids with confidence, and much more. Our family will be healthy if we give it time and thanks to modern methods of preparing food we have more time to spend with our family.

In conclusion, and suffice it to say, the ease of cooking has improved our life. It helps us save our precious time, contributes to women empowerment and provide us with a greater variety of food than ever before in history.