Eating local food and the related environmental impacts

Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Unlike in the past where food was mostly made and consumed locally, thanks to free trade and globalization, humans can nowadays enjoy a variety of food choices from around the world. Such development may come at a price and from my perspective, I believe that the benefits are eclipsed by the disadvantages.

Those who oppose of my view may have some convincing arguments. Chief of which is the inability to produce agricultual products. Some countries lack the capacity to produce food domestically due to geographic constraints, therefore relying on other countries' food production is far more sensible. Singapore, for instance, is a relatively small island nation, which often resort to food imports, particularly vegetables. It would create not only severe environmental disruption but also excess pressure on the country's budget if Singaporean government decided to expand their land mass through sea invasion means.However, Singapore is one of the few countries which lack agricultural capacities.

In my opinion, importing food from overseas has several rammifications. The first problem is that in order to ensure food integrity and expiration period, companies often apply preservatives to preserve fresh and perishable produce. Once consumed, these chemicals can accumulate in our systems, increasing the risks of developing cancers and other health-related complications. Another negative impact is the astronomical carbon emission releasing to the environment during transportation. Such factor can effectively undermine current enronmental conservation effort, further exacerbating global warming problem.

In conclusion, Although I acknowledge the logic behind the necessity of consuming foreign food, I hold my belief that we should rely on local food sources as the the harm on human health and the environment are far greater than the advantages.