IELTS 2: education on junk food overconsumption. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion.

Food standards in education

Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there are a large number of people having obsessed with junk food, therefore, researchers believe that this phenomenon will result in health problems. Although some people argue that such issues can be addressed through education, others hold opposite perspective on it. In this essay, I will breakdown both thoughts and state my own view.

Advocates state that inculcating consumers with healthy dietary style is undoubtedly the best solution because of raising concerns on nutritional values. It is their view that a large proportion of customers ignores the fact that these unhealthy food is invariably high in sugar and salt. Nonetheless, with modest education, understanding the consequences of consuming an excessive amount of junk food can help them realise the importance of forming a wholesome dietary habit. As a result, they believe that consumers will ultimately alter their diet patterns by decreasing the frequencies of purchasing such merchandise or increasing the intake of greenery vegetables.

However, opponents think that it is impossible to reduce individual's addiction to junk food merely by education. They believe that the vast majority of consumers clearly know the detrimental effects on health, however, because of its convenience and low cost, they cannot help being a slave to such products. In addition, they also insist that education will only have negligible effects if related national policies do not regulate the advertisements and promotions on junk food. For instance, government can pose higher taxations on these products and limit the content of junk food advertising, so that fewer customers will be attracted by relatively low prices and appealing marketing strategies.

In conclusion, although education plays a significant role in ceasing people from overconsuming junk food, I firmly believe that it is inevitably never enough to resolve the issues. Concreted efforts should also be executed by national administrations.