IELTS (ESSAY) - Education topic (universal and special education)

Q. Some people think teaching children different abilities together benefits everyone, others think intelligent children should be taught separately and given special treatment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past decades, the way of education has been discussed throughout the world. Regarding this, although many assert that intelligent students should receive special education which is different from ordinary teaching means and contents, while others disagree with this standpoint. This essay will set out both perspectives and elucidate my notion.

Outstanding students should be taken care of by schools and instructors since this specialized treatment could lead them to perform their best. Despite several positive aspects of universal education systems, it is obvious that they can concentrate well and gain knowledge quicker than normal pupils; hence, if those are required to take lessens together, they may feel boring and fewer challenges. Furthermore, offering smarter children with higher level of courses can reduce the cost of private education as they do not need to take advanced courses out of schools. With respect to the reasons, offering special programs with intelligent students could have some benefits.

In contrast, teaching various student academic disciplines in the same classes could be beneficial because they can learn social skills.

Indeed, while taking courses, they can experience many types of children from various background; therefore, they could learn how to communicate and corporate with others and develop team spirit. In addition, children could actively take part in learning processes as they would realize their own strengths and weaknesses, and can teach others what they are specialized in. Considering this, encouraging more students to take part in the same classes or activities concurrently would be valuable for everyone.

In conclusion, even though both have their own grounds, I am personally inclined to think that teaching classes t to children without any segregation would be better considering social abilities and cooperation. However, individual treatment for remarkable students should be considered as well.