Some educators believe that the most important trait a teacher can have is self-acceptance.

It allows the teacher to better relate to his or her students, to better deal with the problems, and to better provide a positive and constructive role model.

Present your arguments in agreement or disagreement with this statement.

It is almost evident that most people deal with problems of self-acceptance these days. Many people advocate that it is essential for teachers to accept who they are. On the other hand, some people argue that self-acceptance is not the most prominent character teachers should possess. I tend to agree with the former view that self-acceptance is the most vital trait for teachers.

First and foremost, teachers who accept themselves have more chance to impart self-confidence in their students. It is because they can relate themselves and their experiences to teach their pupils. For instance, a teacher whose accent is not American, instead of taking this as his limitation, can accept it and teach his students to approve of their shortcomings and accept themselves as they are, without changing themselves to suit to false standards of society. In addition, by accepting themselves, teachers can show their pupils that no one is perfect. They should become better, not an ideal version that they cannot accept but do under the pressing demand of society or their peers.

Furthermore, when teachers approve of their limitations, a student can better rely on teachers to solve their problems. For example, a teacher who is terrible at sports can openly accept it, despite hiding his weak character. As a result, some students can unhesitatingly tell their teacher about their problems, as their teacher will not judge them based on their issues. Hence, a wall between students and teacher breaks.

Moreover, teachers can become good role models for their pupils when they have self-acceptance. To tackle real-world issues, a student needs a realistic role model, not some fictional character. To illustrate, a teacher who shows shortcomings as a part of a person's trait and teaches his students to accept them and progress, can help students in a better way. If teachers do not impart these ideas, students can lose practical role models. For example, if a student, who wants to play basketball on the national level, does not accept his limitation, such as height, may become stressed and frustrated.

In conclusion, it is vital for teachers to self-accept themselves to impart comprehensible and practical knowledge to their students and become realistic role models.