Essay about if self-acceptance is the most important trait a teacher can have

the most significant trait of an educator

Hi, here is a CBEST essay practice!

Some educators believe that the most important trait a teacher can have is self-acceptance. It allows the teacher to better relate to his or her students, to better deal with student problems, and to better provide a positive and constructive role model.

Present your arguments in agreement with this statement, or, if you disagree, present your viewpoints as to what you believe is the most important quality for a teacher to have.

A good teacher is supposed to have various qualities. Some educators believe that self-acceptance is the most significant trait for a teacher because it allows them to have better relationships with their students, to solve students' problems better, and to enable them a great role model. I totally agree with this statement and this essay will illustrate it more detailedly below.

To begin with, a teacher who is self-acceptant can relate to their students better. Self-acceptance lets people themselves fully accept both their positive and negative qualities and understand the value of themselves. So, a self-acceptant teacher can see students' strengths and weaknesses better. Students will be less defined simply as good or bad. For instance, a teacher will recognize a student as a friendly and helpful one although the study is not perfect. Therefore, these teachers are able to accept more appreciation from their students.

Secondly, a teacher who accepts themselves will also deal with students' issues better. Normally, self-acceptant teachers will have a tendency of possessing more empathies because accepting their own weaknesses enables them to understand that no one is perfect. Therefore, the first thing when these teachers do when they see students' problems and mistakes is trying to help out instead of blaming and being irritated.

Thirdly, self-acceptance allows teachers to become positive and constructive role models. Teachers who fully understand and accept who they naturally convey positive energy to students around. The energy encourages them to never give up, to accept themselves, to be thankful for what they have, and so on, which illustrates that students can become better people under the influence of teachers who have self-acceptance.

To conclude, this essay agrees that self-acceptance is the most important trait for a teacher to have.