The effects of moving away from home to attend university

IELTS Writing task 2 - Education

Topic: Many university students live with their families while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations?

In many countries, some high school leavers choose to live independently while pursuing further education while the others stay with their families. In my opinion, this choice has its own merits accompanied by some drawbacks which will be analyzed in this essay.

To begin with, living away from home exerts several benefits to students' lives. One of the key factors leading to this choice is that it could be a lifetime experience for many undergraduates. When living alone, students might have the opportunities of learning self- discipline, taking care of themselves by doing daily household chores such as washing, cooking or cleaning without the help of their parents. Consequently, it will also bring about a golden occasion for students to develop essential living habits which is considered to be the second advantage. To finish all these tasks as well as constantly improve their academic performance at schools simultaneously, students have to equip themselves with vital soft skills, including time-management, adaptability or budgeting and money management. In addition, they would learn how to tolerate and overcome their individual problems, which will not only help harness their many skills, especially problem-solving, but also provide them with a sense of freedom.

On the flip side, it is undeniable that this decision negatively affected some aspects of their lives. Without the support of their families, students have to shoulder a lot more duties and responsibilities, ranging from securing their training process to balancing their budgets. Constantly experiencing such unpleasant situations can put students under great pressure, giving rise to stress-related illnesses. In contrast, one compelling point of staying with families is that students can minimize their expenditure as rent, utility bills and renovations are no longer concerns. As a result, students can set aside financial worries and focus solely on their studies.

In conclusion, despite some beneficial impacts of moving away from home to attend university, it is advisable that each student consider thoroughly before giving his decision.