(IELTS ESSAY) Effects of reading newspaper and watching television news

Some say that reading newspaper and watching TV news is a waste of time because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, media such as newspaper and television are considered to be an irrefutable part in our life. However, many people are of the view that, news brings no benefit, as it has no relation with them. Though people have different views on this topic, I strongly disagree with this notion as it stands very closely to people life.

First and foremost, news helps us to update our knowledge. It includes information about communicable disease, natural calamities, weather changes, and so on. All these information can have a great influence on everyone's life. For instance, the flash news about Tsunami showed on news channels helped to save the lives of many people in the costal of area of Kerala, two year ago. So news has inevitable role in human life.

In addition to this, information related to crime published in newspaper helps the people to get a better insight of its ill-effects and thereby reduce the further occurrence of such misfortunes to a great extent. For example, the highlighted news of atrocities against woman helped to reduce the rate of such incidents in future. Thus, no one can contradict the significance of news in our life.

From these points of view, it is crystal clear that reading newspaper and watching television news have great influence on people's day-today-life.