IELTS Task 2: Electronic Media May Give Benefits And Drawbacks For People On Relationship

The use of electronic has a negative effect on personal relationship between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Bad consequences on personal relationship will be emerged if people use electronic media. I do agree that the statement may be right when people apply it on face to face communication because it can be some distractions. However, the electronic media will be very useful when they utilize on long distance relationship.

Electronic media such as laptop or smart phone may help people to get along more closely on relationship. Yet, it cannot be happened when they are communicating directly for strengthening relation. It can be obstacles of two persons because one of them, or maybe both, will get difficulties to share more attentions between partner of speaking and the gadget. In consequence, they cannot focus on material of conversation that they experience, and it drives to misunderstanding communication. For example, replay a massage, update status, and call someone while talking. In short, these are disturbing activities.

On the other hand, the cell phone will be very helpful for people who have a relationship in different areas due to specific condition such working. They can interact by the phone to communicate to each other easily and regularly without gathering. To illustrate, chatting in social media and video calling. Not only they can save money because there is no cost for transportation, but also this way has flexible time only if they have connection of the internet or wi-fi. Moreover, they are able to do another activity whereas they use the gadget for keeping in touch.

To sum up, electronic media may give benefits and drawbacks for people on personal relationship depending on the condition how they use it, on directly or indirectly communication. It is better for people to decrease their usage of the electronic device when they are on face to face communication. Likewise, people should maximize and optimize the technology when they have to be separated one and another.