IELTS 2 - Electronic Media negative influence; people become introvert and less active socially

The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Electronic media has a significant role in relationship of people to other people. People who use electronic media can get a bad impact on personal relationships among people. Whilst I believe that electronic media brings some benefits to people, I firmly believe that a negative effect of it is bigger than positive effect.

First of all, electronic media bringing people becomes an introvert as people become having a tendency to spend their time alone. For example, today people have at least one smartphone which can help them to connect to their colleague, relatives, and friends without meeting directly such as making a call, sending a message, or even email. It can affect to psychological condition of people. They become having more closed personality. As a result, people feel awkward, at the moment they meet other people and have difficulties to say something in direct communication. It can make misunderstanding. It is evidence that electronic media brings a negative effect on personal connection.

In addition, electronic media causes people having problem in social lives as they become rare to do interaction to other people. They tend taking plenty of time to play their electronic media such as laptop and mobile phone. For instance, many people who are exist in public space such as restaurant tend to use their mobile phone, whereas they gather with their friends. As a consequence, they do less interaction such making conversation. It can be seen from the example that electronic media have bad impact on personal relationship between people.

However, electronic media has a positive effect on people's relationship. It can connect among people in a great way. For example, sometimes people need to send message to other people in a swift time which can be obtained through electronic media such smartphone. As a result, people have a good personal relationship to others. That is no wonder that electronic media has a good effect in personal relationship.

The aforementioned shows that electronic media has more a negative impact than positive effect on personal connection among people.