IELTS TASK 2: Entertainment

Question: People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, entertainment media offers its audience various ways for self-entertainment, one of which is watching the show in solitude. In my opinion, although this current trend provides unneglectable benefits, there are some other opportunities that will be missed out.

One of the primary reasons that insular viewing habits appealing to certain people would be the essence of higher concentration and appreciation for the work of arts. There are certain shows that require utter attention from viewers to fully understand, absorb, and appreciate the artistry, metaphorical messages, and cinematography that the art producer intends to deliver. As a result, watching shows in solitude is considered as a way to indulge oneself in arts and savor the sense of arts while avoiding any unwanted attention, side distraction, and unwelcomed intrusion from external forces.

Having said that, there are some other opportunities left missing out when enjoying the show without company. The most noteworthy one would be the absence of interaction and discussion between viewers about the show content, which can possibly make the experience unfulfilling and unsatisfying. Besides, the elements of sharing laughter and mutual feelings can establish and trigger positive connections between the viewers and the show; nevertheless, if watching alone, such perks will be missed out regrettably.

In conclusion, although enjoying the work of arts alone allows individuals to fully absorb and appreciate the artistry, it ignores other opportunities and benefits of collectively sharing similar emotions and connections with other viewers. However, ultimately speaking, it depends on the personal preference of the viewer, and all forms of art appreciation should be respected and welcomed.