Equality in governments and politics (IELTS WRITING TASK 2)

Topic: Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country's police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the opinion that women should have similar equality to men in a particular nation's force, such as police or military. However, others believe women are not compatible with these occupations. Even though both schools of thought hold merits, I agree more with the former opinions due to various reasons that will be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are numerous rationales that persuade women should have equal role as men in police or military force. Given the increasing popularity of equality, women can take schools, classes or working in same jobs as men. In many countries, not only can women participate in sports or office works, but also heavy industries and even politics, such as police and military force. Therefore, it is true that women should play an equal rights as men in a certain nation.

Opponents of the previous view, on the other hand, are in belief that women are unsuitable for those kinds of jobs. Because women have noticeable disparities with men in strength and intelligence, they are believed to have difficulties in doing heavy or high-intensity occupations. Meanwhile, police force and military have many requirements about strength and intelligence, which is likely more suitable for men, who are born naturally stronger than women. Thus, women are incompatible with these jobs.

To conclude, despite the mixed opinions whether women should work in police and military force or not, I believe that they should have a similar role as men and can join in those labor forces. Although women lack of strength and intelligence compared to those men, they could address by taking proper training from schools and classes.