IELTS Writing Task 2: Governments spending on promoting public health

Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments to guide people to healthy habits

In recent decades, lifestyle-caused diseases have become widespread in many countries around the world, causing public controversy. Although many governmental efforts have been made to tackle this problem, financial investments in promoting a healthy lifestyle can be viewed as an ultimate approach.

Governments can achieve many unexpected advantages in the long run by helping their citizens have a healthy lifestyle. First, it will eventually reduce substantially the average medical expenditure the governments spend on an annual basis. For example, Mexico was able to save up to one billion dollars on medical bills last year to deal with their citizens' chronic diseases by building more public gyms. Second, given the immense medical pressure local hospitals have to take, raising awareness of a good lifestyle would be an ideal solution. In fact, if people pay more attention to get rid of bad habits to the health, the need for medical attention will decrease considerably.

Another compelling reason why public spending should be used to guide people to healthy habits is how easy it is to implement with a great rate of success. First, just by offering some small financial rewards, citizens will be motivated to do physical activities that are beneficial to their body. For instance, Japanese people are required to do ten squats in order to use subway services for free, which contributes to build a greater well-being. In addition, if the governments can build more free gyms with the state of the art facilities, it will incentivize more people to embark on carb-burning activities. In fact, it has been proved successful in Malaysia with a 55% more office workers doing exercise when the governments eliminated fees in city gyms.

In conclusion, given the high efficiency and great likelihood of success, the governments should take steps to ensure their citizens having a healthy lifestyle.