TOEFL essay_Should students live in campus or off-campus housing?

One of the problems that affect university students' studying performance is their choice of place to live. At the present time, students are often confused about whether campus or off-campus housing is more suitable for them, which sparks controversy among people.

First of all, some people believe that students should live off-campus because off-campus housing is more beneficial for students than campus one, not only in terms of freedom but also comfort. These people point out the fact that students are not restricted in time when living off-campus, therefore they can learn how to organize and follow their schedule self-reliantly. These people also believe that students could spend more time doing other interesting and exciting things instead of just learning day by day, such as going to the cinema, shopping, or visiting museums. However, in fact, students are likely to be distracted from studying, which is their most important aim if they live off-campus. Another significant disadvantage is that students living far from universities have to pay the high transportation cost and sometimes are late for lectures.

On the contrary, other people advocate that students should live in campus dwellings since they provide benefits for studying. They point out that students surrounded by an academic backdrop find it easy to concentrate on studying. Additionally, it is claimed that university housing always ensures safety and punctuality for students, which make their parents and students themselves feel more secure. Living near universities, students may as well be accessible to universities' facilities. For example, after classes, students are able to read references in the university's library. Moreover, students who live in campus housing can study in group to boost their performance. Conversely, students in off-campus housing often study alone, which may make them become uninspiring and exhausted after a short time.

In conclusion, I agree with those people who support campus housing and want students to live there. Campus housing, as shown, brings many advantages to students. Perhaps, there should be an increase in investment on campus dwellings to serve students more effectively. I believe that students need an ideal place for studying, and I think that living in campus housing is their most reasonable decision.