The experience of working and saving money for the higher education - gap year from school benefits

Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Teenagers get advices by older people to have job before entering university, which does have benefits and drawbacks to their life. The experience of working and store money for the higher education are the major benefits that can be obtained by them, while the competition in getting job and irrelevant salary are the cons.

After the graduation from high school, the students have obligation either to directly go to work or continue to higher education in university. Meanwhile, they should searching and gaining experience before proceed to advanced education which can only be afforded by getting to work. In addition, by prioritizing the work before continue to next level of their education, they can save a lot of money which in turned to be used to pay their studies. It is not a wrong decision to work before their studies, hence it may support their studies later on.

On the contrary, they should also consider the consequences of getting early employment, competition between qualified candidates for job and unfair salaries among employees. As they just finish their high school and search for job, the probability of having occupation become narrow down in consequence of tight qualification. Furthermore, the amount of salary are not equal between them and qualified job seekers. Thus, the number of experiences as well as the educational background are determination of this problem.

In summary, the students who decide to work earlier have to consider the competitors between job hunters and unequal amount of salary they may received later, even though they can still get many job experiences and keep the money for their next stages of education. After all, it is their decision to make.