'experiences obtained from work and travel are valuable' - IELTS essay

Question Students who go directly from school to university benefit less from, and contribute less to their courses than those who take a job or travel in order to get more experience in the real world before starting higher education. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Suspended for incorrect thread title.

Answer

It has almost become a western tradition for students, who are about to commence the first year of university, to take a year off to either conduct first attempt in the workforce or fulfil the teenager dream-visit foreign countries and appreciate exotic culture. Although it is beneficial for students to gain working experience and explore the world, the drawbacks from this decision can outweigh merits.

To some extent, it is true that real life experience trumps academic knowledge, because university education can only impart certain knowledge and technique, whereas real-life experiences , such as interpersonal skills, moral standards and social courtesy, can only be attained in the society. However, students should not ignore the disadvantages caused by taking a year off.

For students who seek for working opportunities, they may overlook or underestimate their disadvantaged situation. As fresh graduates from high schools, students normally do not have professional skills and working experiences, which make them less competitive in the labour market. Therefore, it is unlikely for them to find promising jobs and most of them end up with low-end "blue-collar" jobs which can hardly provide any working experience.

Many students start their journey with hopes to befriend with strangers, appreciate exotic cultures and deal with unexpected crisis, which can also be achieved in universities. Interestingly, university life can provide all the sensation that a young traveller crave-acquaint with new classmates, enjoy a long chat with international students and cope with assessments. On top of all, all this can be achieved with minimum cost and without falling behind their peers.

Nevertheless, the experiences obtained from work and travel are valuable, but given the constrains posed upon students, it is better for them to start university study right after the high school graduation.