IELTS Task 2 - Explain the need of learning a foreign language

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

foreign language knowledge can help those who will use it

The reasons to learn a new language are obvious to people who travel abroad or work overseas. While some claim that foreign languages can also be advantageous in other circumstances, I believe that they are only beneficial to the group mentioned above, as will now be discussed.

On the one hand, there are reasons to learn a new language other than to function normally in a foreign country. Firstly, people can use their language skills to broaden their global culture understanding by watching movies produced overseas. Secondly, knowing foreign languages enables us to read the news in other countries. For example, many readers in Vietnam used Weibo to keep themselves updated with stories and events happening in China.

On the other hand, I believe that only those who travel to a foreign country for money or entertainment should learn a new language. Like any skill, language skills can be weakened if not usually utilized. Those not travelling nor working overseas are less likely to use foreign languages regularly and therefore, should not spend their time learning something they may soon forget. Also, to master a new language is extremely arduous and daunting, meaning that one must devote huge amounts of time and dedication to sharpen language skills. Thus, only those who have a serious need of using a new language should put themselves up to such a challenge. Otherwise, doing so may not be helpful.

In conclusion, knowing a new language can help us do spectacular things such as exploring exotic cultures and reading foreign news. However, I hold the view that for those who are not travelling abroad or working in a foreign firm in the future, learning new languages could be a waste of time and energy, as explained in this essay.