IELTS Task 2: Travel and work are the only reason for learning a foreign language

Question:

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

reasons to learn a foreign language

There are over a thousand languages spoken in the world that people use in their daily lives. The reason person learning a foreign language may merely for traveling or business purpose.

With the advance of technology, people travel to another country for fun or business is quite common nowadays. It motivates a lot of people obtaining another language as a communication skill. They may be more easy to inquire traveler's guide or bargain at lower price since they know how to use the language well. For business person, they are more accessible to global firms because language is no more a barrier of communication.

However, some believe that there are more incentives for people to learn a foreign language. Take scientists for example, they have to do research with a variety of references from other countries, then they should learn some principles of other languages in order to understand the ideas in foreign language. As for historians, they should learn other languages to understand the living type of other cultures. With thousands of languages spoken in the world, people interchanges their language for better understanding and culture respect.

I do learn languages but not only for traveling or working overseas. Learning foreign language is a way for me to know how people behaves, lives, and think in their own culture. I appreciate different cultures for its own distinction, and learning their languages makes me more acceptable to various cultures.

Overall, traveling and work are major reasons for people to learn a foreign language while there are more cultural or scientific aspects for you to discover rather than language exchange only.