Explain some possible reasons and solutions for the issue of obesity - IELTS writing task 2

the lack of healthy food and physical exercises

Hi everyone, I am practising writing IELTS writing task 2 and I hope you all help me improve my writing skills.

Here is the task:

Obesity is an increasing public health problem in some parts of the world. Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Here is my answer:

It is true that obesity has been a serious health issue in many developed countries. There are several causes of this problem, but there are also solutions. One cause is a poor diet. Another cause is lack of physical activity. People should try to have healthier meals and take regular exercises.

The first reason for obesity is that most people do not have a balanced diet. Specifically, they prefer eating out at restaurants that serve fast foods such as fried chicken and hamburgers. These kinds of food contain a great amount of unhealthy fat and calories which make people who consume them gain weight. Besides, many of them have late night dinners, which, according to scientists, may increase the risk of obesity because the body does not have an opportunity to burn the calories.

The second reason is that obese people do not take regular exercises. As a result of the fast pace of modern life, these people tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. In simpler terms, they often sit long hours at their offices and spend less time for outdoor activities. Moreover, the harder they work, the more stress that places on them, which can also encourage a passive lifestyle. In other words, stressed people tend to eat and sleep more and feel lazy to take physical activities.

In order to curb the obesity epidemic, it is important that people have healthy eating patterns that contain less fat and sugar. Instead of eating too much junk food, they can try to spend more time cooking healthy food at home and try to consume less meat and more vegetables. Furthermore, they should exercise on a daily basis as well. By this way, people not only reduce the risk of getting obese but also prevent many other dangerous diseases like diabetes and heart disease.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons for the rising rate of obesity in many western countries, which are the lack of healthy food and physical exercises. However, this issue could be tackled by making appropriate changes to our lifestyle and eating habits.