More and more factories are being built to serve for the massive production of large enterprises.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of building a large factory.

A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory and why?

Nowadays, more and more factories are being built to serve for the massive production of large enterprises. Together with certain advantages related to the economy, the most concerned disadvantage is that it would cause detrimental impact to the environment. In this essay, I will discuss both benefits and withdrawals of building a new factory.

The huge advantage of having a factory in the community is the creation of jobs for local people. The construction of the factory requires a big number of labors in the short time. After that, they need to hire both skilled and unskilled labor in order to run the factory, which create lots of job in the long time. This would probably promote the development of regional economy. Besides, when jobs are created, people will earn more money and their living standard will increase, which benefit the society.

However, environmental pollution is the biggest problem concerning the factory. Many factories in my countries violate the rule of protecting the surrounding environment and do not follow strictly the process of waste treatment. For example, they often pump the waste into water or emit the factory emission into the air. Those activities result in detrimental impacts to the environment, polluting the air and leading thousands of marine animals to fatal death.

If a factory were to be built in my community, I would strongly oppose to that plan. The fact that factory would pollute the surrounding area probably outweigh all the benefits related to it. Without protecting the environment, the economy cannot develop sustainably. Besides, people in my community have to breath the polluted air and eat fishes from contaminated river, which put the health of the whole community under threat.

To summarize, running a factory brings about certain advantages such as creating more jobs and developing regional economy, but it also raises the problem of protecting the environment. In my opinion, it is clear that the detrimental effects of related to the factory would outweigh its benefits.