Family's closeness - IELTS 2: Problems and Solutions Essay

I am planning to take the IELTS test. Here is one of my essay. I really need to improve my writing skills in order to get the best preparation for the IELTS test.

Topic:It is generally acknowledged that families now are not as close as they used to be.

What are some possible reasons for this and what can be done to reserve the trend.

deteriorated family bonds

Given the over-increasing pace in modern life, it seems common in many places that family bonds have been deteriorated. In my opinion, some possible ways could be done to minimize the downside of the issue.

To start with, there are many ways in which this unfavorable situation could occur. The primary factor probably is the intrusion of modern technology into family life. In the past, family members were more likely to interact with each other as there were fewer technological diversions. However, in today's life, each member within a family could easily be distracted from family conversation by many hi-tech devices such as smartphones or tablets. Another factor leading to this trend probably is the over-increasing pace of the modern life. Given the fact that people tend to rush through things to ensure an advantageous position in the face of stiff competition, therefore, the closeness between family members would eventually suffer.

However, it is true that many ways could be done to tackle this matter. One of the most promising ones could be ensuring that family members spend sufficient time together and enhance healthy interactions among them. For example, parents may try to reduce the time spent on technological devices at home, such as setting time restriction for Internet usage or arrange more time to chat or play with their child. More importantly, parents should always remember that they are working for a better life with their loved ones, not living to work.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons for the undermining of family's closeness in today's life, I believe that great efforts from both parents and children are likely able to reserve this trend.