WRITING ESSAY TASK 2 - FAMILY AND FRIENDSHIP

It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for the absence of friendship.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a universal controversy about the importance of family and friendship. Many people reckon that family is sufficient for their lives and it is unnecessary to have friends. From my perspective, however, good friends are also significant in our lives and there are a lot of circumstances when family is unable to make up for the drawbacks of having no friends.

Although the significance of family is undisputable, the precious values of friendship should not be ignored. Family plays a crucial role in everyone's life since they are reliable ones whom we can turn to for advice when encountering difficulties and obstacles. However, there are plenty of intimate secrets that are impossible to share with parents such as love affairs or financial status, mainly due to a huge generation gap and a fear of making them worried. In these circumstances, sharing with good friends would be preferable thanks to mutual understandings and common notions.

Besides, family members are likely to become trustworthy and ideal friends. In fact, children who have siblings might consider their sisters or brothers as wonderful companions. In addition, teenagers who have suffered bullying in schools might isolate themselves from their peers while family is always tolerant of their mistakes and imperfections, making them more confident and pleasant. However, parents are incapable of accompanying their kids on many occasions but only friends could do. For example, youngsters often show a great preference for traveling with a couple of their friends rather than with family. It is understandable since young people are likely to be appealed by extreme sports, adventurous trips, and once-in-a-lifetime challenges, whereas parents who belong to the previous generation do not seem to be enthusiastic about these unconventional experiences.

In conclusion, both family and friendship are key drivers to a happy and fulfilled life. It is agreeable that family is an indispensable part of our lives, however, it can not completely replace the existence of good friends.