[B2 FCE WRITING PART 1] An essay: Progress in technology

In your English class you have been talking about progress in technology. Now, your English teacher has asked you to write an essay.

Write your essay using all the notes and giving reasons for your point of view.

'Technology is the only way to solve the world's environmental problems.'

Do you agree?

Write about:

1. transport

2. producing food

3. ........................ (your own idea)

Write your answer in 140 - 190 words in an appropriate style.

Nowadays, with the help of technology, our society has made an insane progress on dealing with problems occurring in our life. However, modern technology is not the only way to solve world's issues, especially for environmental problems

To begin with, the common cause leads to air pollution coming from various types of vehicles. On the other hand, the simple solution for this issue is that we can use non-polluting means of transport like bicycles or even walk without affecting the environment. This means we do not require any expensive latest technology like electric cars or trains to help improve environmental conditions.

Furthermore, food industry is the main source of pollution and harmful gas. Although many methods and modern technology have been developed, we cannot avoid the stage of burning and smelting food, which is a major factor leads to air pollution. On the flip side, we can consider growing our own vegetables at home or getting meat and fish from traditional markets instead of buying them from convenient stores.

Last but not least, the latest devices and technology itself is the most influential aspect of air polluting. In recent years, large corporations are developing and improving their products with the most modern chips and graphics, which is a phase sending out a lot of carbon dioxide. From my perspective, we can make the best use of old phones and computers with basic features that are harmless to the environment.

In conclusion, technology is getting implemented in several majors to reduce environmental pollution, but it is not the only way since there are other easier and cheaper options to overcome this problem.