IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Economic progress VS Other progress

the issue of progress and economyy

For many nations of the world, economy is regarded as the most desirable achievement there is. While economy is certainly relevant to the survival of a country, I opine that there are many more respects to it than just financial well-being.

On the one hand, those who prioritize only their economical goals have their defensible grounds. Firstly, the financial health of the state is one the foundational elements in maintaining its aspects, whether it be health care, education, or science and technology. Most researches as well as advancements require some sort of governmental funding, which is only available if the country is thriving economically. Secondly, an economy plays a decisive role in the people's well-being. With a successful economy comes higher living standards, better health care and education and decrease in crimes due to better job opportunities. In short, the importance of the economy to a nation is equivalent to that of the spine to a body.

On the other hand, to only prioritize one's economy would be insufficient, other factors, such as the environment, should be taken into consideration as well. As can be observed from history, the process of industrialization and modernization has caused nature to suffer incredibly. In the exemplary case of China and India, their industrial developments, which have lead to buoyant economies, engendered air pollution to exacerbate. It was so serious that not until the Covid pandemic put their economical activities into a complete halt could the heavy dust clouds be ameliorated, the sky be seen and the people breathe safely without masks.

In conclusion, even though essentializing the economy is sensible, it is advisable for authorities to also take environmental issues and the such just as seriously.