Fixed punishments or considering circumstances and motivation of each crime

Pros and cons of Fixed punishments

These days, different approaches to criminal punishments have been a controversial issue. From my point of view, while many people believe that fixed punishments are beneficial, I strongly agree that the judge should consider carefully the situations and motivations of each criminal led to the crime before imposing punishments.

On the one hand, many residents support the view that punishments should be fixed since they have a plethora of advantages. First and foremost, it is apparently seen that fixed punishments play a vital role in improving judgment efficiency. This is understandable since the judge can easily prescribe the punishment available in the laws based on the evidence and the severity of the crime. As a result, not only do fixed punishments help the judge and observers save their time and money but they also have the ability to decrease a large number of law conflicts between defendants and victims. In addition, fixed punishments are also beneficial for society due to the fact that these penalties will have the potential in decreasing the number of criminals because the inhabitants are aware of their strict punishments for their bad behaviors.

On the other hand, I personally believe that considering other factors such as the criminals' circumstances and motivations is necessary and fair. The prime reason to support my view is that criminals should be punished in suitable punishments. For instance, it is obviously seen that robberies who commit a crime due to their disadvantageous situation should have different punishments from those who break the law because they do not want to work diligently. Furthermore, circumstances and motivations for committing should be taken into account before prescribing is extremely essential and useful for the judges as they can make the best decisions. Hence, there are willing to be fewer conflicts in society.

In summary, despite the advantages of fixed punishments, it seems to me that each crime should be judged taking both the situations and motivation into account.