IELTS 2: Food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Good or Bad

In contemporary society, food can be transferred across the globe in order to meet its demand. Since this tendency plays a pivotal role in humanity, a great deal of discord has arisen in the society over its upsides and downsides. In this regard, distinct views will be discussed in many facets.

It is universally acknowledged that food supply is of necessity to mankind. To begin with, a wide range of food affords consumers more options to suit their preference. In other words, a society is deemed to be relatively more livable with enriched food diversity. More importantly, for the sake of allocating food and farm products, more labours and specialists are required. This, undeniably, boosts employment opportunity as well as stimulates economic growth of a nation. Thus, seen from this perspective, the trend of food transfer is not something necessarily detrimental.

In spite of this, some claim that food products may get contaminated easily when they are moved from one region to another. Furthermore, numerous rare diseases are determined to be contacted via food transit. As a result, it is disturbing that food from overseas could erode the local environment and public health.

Notwithstanding the disease transmission, the pros of food logistics are more palpable and profound. With the cutting-edge technology, customs could eliminate threats from foreign farm items by legislation. For instance, Australia strictly prohibits raw food imported by individuals and this policy is effective and efficient as far as I am concerned. Apart from this, the development of food transfer could decelerate food shortage, and perhaps hunger in particular areas. Accordingly, a vast number of people are the beneficiaries.

In conclusion, the advantage of long distance food travel for different purposes prevail over it advantages. I am convinced that as long as this development is under the scrutiny of countries themselves, the negative implication is minimal while it saves people lives.