The essay is about food waste in the world - IELTS Writing

Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world.

Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

=> Answer:

One of the major concerns in today's society is that globally a huge amount of food is disposed of in a single day. In the following paragraphs, some reasons leading to this worrying trend will be discussed, and feasible solutions to tackle them will also be presented.

To begin with, there are some main causes resulting in the above mentioned scenario. Firstly, as society becomes more sophisticated and developed, individuals get more and more affluent, which can lead to a disregard for food. There are many situations when families acquire a large amount of food with the intention of storing and using it gradually, but lack a suitable spending plan, which rapidly leads to food expiry and the requirement to dispose of it. The second reason might be that the government and production authorities have not implemented appropriate and effective policies. For example, many organizations frequently prioritize number above quality, leading to an abundance of inferior items that are less appealing to purchasers.

One of the most significant measures is to enhance consumer knowledge, particularly among children. There should be classes to educate youngsters to appreciate food while also teaching them nutrition information so that they realize the value of food. Furthermore, the media, such as newspapers, radio or even social networking sites, should feature programs that communicate nutritional knowledge to everyone and give cost-effective dietary options. Initiatives to tackle food waste should be launched by organizations and companies. When some organizations construct a rapid and effective purchase and distribution route for unsold and near-due items, the market for "near-by-date goods" has become a billion-dollar business in several countries.

In conclusion, consumer awareness, as well as company production and distribution practices are the main culprits of wasting food across the globe. Therefore, it is high time the solutions presented above should be implemented to address them.