Foreigners should adapt the host country's customs and tradition when settling in

Agree or Disagree task

WRITING TASK 2

People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Answer

Regarding to a common argument stating that foreigners should adapt the host country's customs and tradition when settling in, in my perspective, I completely agree with this view.

On the one hand, new immigrants will certainly face extreme difficulties while behaving irrespectively toward host cultural values. Cultural values refer to core principles and beliefs upon which the entire community exists. Particularly, culture values are surely shown up through social norms, those have been formed for such a long time in a certain society. Hence, regardless of newcomers, those not conforming these social norms are likely to face with hostile attitudes by local residents. For instance, South East Asia residents will surely consider newcomers spoiled if their appearance is cover by full of tattoos.

On the other hand, adapting social norms can be beneficial for newcomers in many perspectives. Firstly, regarding to those behave according to social norms, they are surely gain a richness of experiences from enjoying aspects of local customs and traditions. Culture conflicts generally results in social isolation, hence, establishing close relationships with the host community is considered as the top priority for majority of foreigners when living in a new society. Additionally, with the welcoming attitudes by local residents, in term of doing business, newcomers will definitely gain certain achievements. To illustrate, an entrepreneur will have a chance to maximize the profit if his products conform to the cultural values of local residents.

By way of conclusion, with the purpose of being part of community as well as avoiding social isolation, it is truly essential for foreigners to behave respectively to the social norms of where they are living.