Free time on my smartphone - Writing task 2: Direct question

Many people, nowadays, spend a large part of their free time on a smartphone.

What do you think are the reasons for this?

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

A large number of people use mobile phones whenever they are free. I believe that friends' influence and need to connect with others are two primary causes for using phones in free time, and it is a negative development because this activity badly affects a person's health.

One of the two reasons people use phones excessively can be peer influence. In other words, when a person encounters his friends using phone for various activities, such as video games or watching movies, he also tend to do the same. For example, it was reported in a study conducted by the Ministry of Health in India in 2012, that 73% of the teenagers use mobiles under the influence of their companions.

Another cause is that people try to create new relations via smartphones. These devices contain countless applications, websites and other algorithms by which new friends can be made easily. As a result of such helpful features, phones help people in formulating new bonds and keep in touch with old ones. Facebook would be an excellent illustration. This app allows people to connect with each other and make new friends just on one click.

On the other hand, I feel that it is a negative advancement as it indirectly affects a person's well-being. Due to watching a screen all the time, people who use phones do not feel motivated to perform any physical tasks. This results in turning them obese or overweight later on. Furthermore, concentrating excessively the phone screen also lead to poor eyesight or, even worse, eye-related issues. For instance, every doctor suggests that human eyes should avoid too much focus on anything, because it can damage the cornia and retina present in them. Apart from that, it is scientifically profound that smartphones discharge radiation signals that are harmful for a human mind. For all these reasons, I think it is not beneficial.

To conclude, many people like to use smartphones in their free time to form friendships easily and due to an influence by their peers. However, in my opinion, excessive usage of phone poses a threat on the health of a person, thus it is a negative development.