GAP YEAR BETWEEN HIGHSCHOOL AND COLLEGE. Is it a good decision?

Some high school leavers think that they should work or travel for a period of time instead of entering university. To what extent do you agree or disagree with that. Write at least 250 words.

Gap year for high school graduates

It is naturally observed that some high school graduates think they should spend a certain amount of time working or traveling before going straight to the university. In reality, there is a greater liking for a gap time among students who intend it for multiple purposes. However, from my perspective, this route serves its both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, working and traveling would give the students a great opportunity to gain invaluable experience. First, they can mount some campaigns and raise funds to financially support the livings of the poor and elderly. Second, young adults will not only run into many kinds of people but also enlarge our relationship networks. And therefore, I personally believe this can be the deciding factor in equiping seniors with essential skills to manage people in our future career. Last, they are more likely to secure a decent job and help strengthen our community.

On the other hand, not everyone thinks traveling from one place to another for a while suits them. As a matter of fact, some can not afford, for example, the plane tickets, food and accommodation while others are scared of taking risks. Many high school leavers may consider working in gap time simply as a means of earning money more quickly but that makes them less competitive compared with their peers. Consequently, it might be easier for them fall behind of the game when they apply for a position in the future.

In conclusion, taking a gap year between high school and university for work or travel will be of immediate benefit providing that would-be undergraduates may accumulate experience and learn more about themselves to be certain of what next step would be towards the future success.

289 words.