IELTS-Gender Equality at WORK or preferences for certain gender?

Topic: Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Women and men are different in a fundamental way. Some people argue that there are jobs designed exclusively for either type of sexes. In my opinion, it is unacceptable that judging an individual's competence for a specific position by his or her gender.

Undoubtedly, both men and women have their advantages and disadvantages due to their gender. Men are supposed to be stronger than women in physical activities, while women have more patience for children that made them ideal carers for kids. But, this situation has changed due to the call for gender equality during the last several decades. For example, fathers have been asking to take more responsibilities for household affairs such as looking after kids, cooking or washing clothes, all of which have been undertaken by females traditionally.

Moreover, whether a person is capable of doing a certain job depends on the ability for the position rather than the gender only. It is universally believed, in the past, that people who could operate a plane are male. But nowadays, after a systematic training, women have mastered this technique as well as men have done. In contrast, male nurses could be seen in every hospital now. Men have successfully entered the field usually dominated by women. Additionally, if a male has been trained to be qualified in the nurse position, the physical advantage will make him more valuable for the hospital as well as patients.

In conclusion, jobs are designed to solve problems or make contributions. There is no reason to neglect a person who is suitable for a job in nearly every single aspect just because of his/her gender.