Generation gap inevitably coexist with human life - IELTS Writing

generational differences

The world is rapidly changing, which means that people born at different times would be impacted by the lifestyle of each period. That causes the generation gap, which is understood as the gap between different generations. It is not difficult for us to catch a generation gap between the old and the young in social life out there. Moreover, the generation gap also exists in our own home because of difficulty understanding, less communication, and differences in lifestyle.

Many factors result in generational differences. First of all, every person has significantly different opinions. Having more experiences, parents occasionally imposed their thought on children and supposed that was the right thing. Don't let the child express their opinion, which makes a risk of high misunderstanding.

Another serious factor is that they don't spend more family time with each other. Parents are working, children are at school and occupy with doing a huge amount of homework. At weekends, the teenager prefers hanging out with friends and getting a coffee than staying at home. According to the New York Post, American families get just 37 minutes of quality time per day, perhaps they just meet face-to-face at dinner time.

Finally, while the young are fond of eating fast food such as KFC, Burger King, Lotte, etc, the old lean towards healthy food. Another example is that the young love to mix and match on-trend clothes, whereas the old supposed that is an exotic style, they like wearing casual clothes than becoming a slave of fashion. Age differences make them have different perspectives as well as different lifestyles.

For these reasons, the generation gap will inevitably coexist with human life. To be more open, share opinions and respect each other is the golden key to get better mutual understood. The quality time also needs to be increased in our own families, especially in the hustle and bustle of life. The more communication we use, the smaller the generation gap will be.