Should the Government or Family Pay for retirement medical cares.

In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.(250 words)

financing long-term care for older people

The elders are believed to live in a residential home where they could have efficiency medical cares. From my point of view, the Government should only pay for this care to help old people who are in urgent need. The other elders in Britain had better live with their family and let them pay for the medical cares.

The old people need to be taken care of by their family rather than nurses in the residential houses. Therefore the family should have been in charge of the payment. It will help reduce the percentage of the lonely old people in Britain. Although the Government's policy on residential homes is quite good, it is increasing the lack of care and concern for their parents or grandparents, from young people. More than five million old people in Britain whose main friend is television which should be their child or grandchild, according to the research from telegraph website.

The investment in the residential care should only for the old who are in urgent needs such as homeless old people or old people without children or relative to take care of them. Being this way, the Government could cut off cost for welfare and build a quantity residential homes rather than create a lot of unqualify ones which increase the low standard and mistreatment in care homes. This research is also indicated on Telegraph website.

In conclusion, it depends on the situation that should the Government or the family pay for the cares. But I strongly recommend that the family should be the main one who gives the care of their old people in the family. That is the indirect way to teach the kids how to take care and respect the old people.