IELTS TASK 2: IS GOVERNMENT RESPONSIBLE FOR TAKING CARE OF CITIZENS' HEALTH and diet?

Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health. Others believe that the Government should make sure that their citizens are healthy.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The mass is facing the dilemma of whether or not the authority is responsible for caring for citizens' health and diet. While some people disagree with the idea that looking after their own health and diet is only an individuals' duty, I hold a belief that both governments and residents should contribute to improving their health condition.

It is undeniable that health is mainly determined by each individual, and the government merely provides them with the best advice and method to improve their health. Moreover, eating nutritious food and doing exercise regularly can enhance residents' health and avoid a number of illnesses. These days, there is a rise in the elderly starting doing aerobics or going jogging in the parks, which is essential in maintaining a healthy body. In addition, an unhealthy diet can cause various problems such as heart disease or diabetes. For that reason, the citizens should eat more vegetables, minerals and reduce the amount of fast food they consume.

On the other hand, authority plays a crucial role in improving the health and diet of people. To be more specific, the government can construct more hospitals and reduce health care costs. As regards children, the government can restrict junk food on schools' menus and encourage them to do physical activities more. Furthermore, many developing countries have imposed a ban on using pesticides in planting to make sure that the citizens were provided with clean and healthy food. Additionally, there is the requirement that food packaging show the food's nutritional content. Hence, either individuals or government is capable of changing health conditions and diet positively.

In conclusion, there are good reasons why people are liable for improving their health and diet, but in my opinion government assistance is partially important.