TOEFL - The government should support science research

TOPIC : Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The government should support science research even if it doesn`t have any practical use.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that investing science is not necessary because there are a number of practical fields which is not supported by the government. However, in my opinion, I believe that the government should have to fund to science. There are two major reasons why I think so: the science is father of the other fields and it can be investment of the future.

First of all, the science is a fundamental ingredient of many studies. Many fields, from agriculture to engineering, are affected by the science, directly or not. Thus, the country should aid scientists who study the natural science. For example, I read a report which showed what if development of science didn`t exist, people`s life could be changed very depressed. Our life is composed of a lot of materials, such as computers, cell phones even papers, which are made of byproducts of the science research. Therefore, I cannot imagine how we can live without the science, so I claim that the government has to fund to science study.

Moreover, the science research is not only the elementary study, but also investment of the future. In other words, the science studies have a potential power of prosperity. Thus, I suggest that the nation should help the science research team. For instance, substantial number of nations already have invested the science research team. This is big deal, because, in the future, technologies equal money. This is the reason why the other countries are hanging on the science research. Therefore, the government should invest science study because of ready for the future.

In conclusion, I claim that the government has to aid the scientist who studies nature science. It is because the science is father of the other study and it can be competitive power in the future.