IELTS Task 2 - Should governments control newly constructed buildings?

Question

Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments.

Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, industry's development pushes big cities in many countries growth more, which results in the appearances of tall buildings. There are people think that governments should control the new buildings, while the others believe that people or organisations who finance the buildings have the right to freely design them as they pleased. I would like to discuss my view about this matter.

On the one hand, the job of designing and commanding how to construct the building belongs to engineers. Engineers are people who have studied about constructing and they have knowledge about designing and evaluating blueprints. If they are provided with a piece of land, they will know about the pros and cons of the land and they will draw a blueprints fit with it. Constructing a building is not an easy task. Therefore, engineers are assigned to do such a job. If the engineer is a professional one, they can do their job right no matter how hard it is.

On the other hand, there are a few problems to deal with if the buildings are not in management. Without proper monitor, some constructing projects will encroach more land than it suppose to have. This may results in the lack of land for some other project. Another problem is, there are people and organisations who uses land illegally. While a piece of land is not managed seriously, there are people try to utilise the holes of law to construct something without someone's notice. And when it is find out, it costs no little money to remove the building. Not only that, in several countries, there are constructing projects which have been left unprogressed for many years due to the lack of governments's management.

My conclusion is, engineers are free to design buildings and to construct them as they see fit. However, at a certain level, there must be governments's management in order to ensure engineers and owners of these constructing projects abide the law of their country.