Should governments make tuition free for all students no matter what financial background they have?

IELTS TASK 2 ON college tuition fee

Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher education attendance is widely considered a vital determinant of economic growth. However, the cost of attending university, which has escalated in recent years, has endangered some valid concerns. It is argued that the government should waive college tuition fees, regardless of a student's socio-economic status. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I opine that subsidizing college education would have an adverse bearing on students and society.

It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that students should be allowed to pursue tertiary education for free. Proponents of tuition exemption argue that this practice would enable more students, especially the underprivileged, to attend college. which would enable them to obtain a tertiary degree and help university graduates stand a better chance of getting well-paid jobs. Nevertheless, this thinking needs to be revised, since the larger influx of graduates into the labor market is a primary driving force behind the rising of youth unemployment. Therefore, it is apparent that the provision of free-of-charge education is counter-productive to job guarantees.

Another significant drawback is that the abolition of university tuition could take a toll on students' performance. As today most undergraduates have to pay for their tuition fees, they are inclined to study in earnest to achieve high scores. As a result, students may be indifferent to studying and lose the motivation to work hard if the financial burden no longer exerts a strain on them. For example, they might skip classes or miss exams to spend time working, entertaining, extracurricular activities participating, and some other certifications studying, which is useful for students' future, as they feel that failing does not cost them anything, leading to deteriorating performance and failing to benefit from their education.

In conclusion, I believe that allotting state funding to cover higher education tuition is not advisable.