Should governments set a limitation on dangerous sports or not?

IELTS ESSAY: Dangerous sports

Some people think that the government should ban dangerous sports, but others think that people should have freedom to do whatever sport activities they choose. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Extreme sports are becoming increasingly popular in the modern society. People hold different opinions toward whether governments should set a limitation on them. Although certain sports activities enjoy a dangerous reputation, I would argue that governments should not stop people from taking part into them.

Supporters of strict rules on extreme sports believe that people and audience may get injury during an extreme sport game. Dangerous sports, unlike mild physical exercise, have a higher level of accident rate. For instance, race car drivers might be injured seriously or even lose their lives when they are driving cars at an extreme high speed. The relics of a crashed car might also hurt the audience. Unless such sports are banned, more people might encounter tragedies.

On the other hand, some people argue that extreme sports lovers should be allowed to conduct the authorities that they are really into. They believe that by taking professional training and paying closer attention to safety measures, it can certainly reduce accident rate. Rock climbers, for example, have been well-trained in the indoor gyms before they set up for a wild climbing journey. In addition, ropes and other climbing equipments will further assure a sound and safe climbing experience.

I believe that extreme sports should not be restricted as it is impossible to avoid people from violating the rules. When someone is going to conduct a skydive at a 30000-mile height off ground, it is not possible for policeman to come and stop this activity on time.

In conclusion, although certain types of sports have a high level of injury rate, governments should not and cannot stop people from enjoying themselves, especially when they have enough preparation.