IELTS Writing task 2 : Gyms and Sports clubs

Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Going to gyms and sports clubs is arguably essential to boost employees' health and productivity, but not all people think alike. I suppose that this has both demerits and merits.

On one hand, it's no secret that exercising is good for us both mentally and physically. When we do sports, our body will create certain kinds of hormones which can help our mind to relax; therefore, it can be a terrific way to relieve stress and refresh our mind after a nerve-racking day of work. I believe that a tired and stressed employee could not make rational decisions or work effectively. Moreover, sedentary employees might have a higher chance to face gradual health deterioration; thus, it is necessary for them to exercise on a regular basis. A wide range of diseases are also prevented if we burn some calories through working out. In so doing, not only one could tone the body but also decline the risk of obesity.

On the other hand, going to gyms and sports clubs might cost one a tremendous amount of time. The benefits that can gain through exercising are not overnight; hence, one has to be patient and persistent to derive them. In addition, these vigorous activities require a lot of energy. This could result in sore muscles and fatigue which might be a hindrance for employees to work properly.

In conclusion, working out has both advantages and disadvantages. Exercising is undisputedly good for our health, but too much of anything is bad, one should know how to do it wisely.