Heated debate as to whether increasing the price of petrol can address environmental problems

People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems.

Give your opinion.

It has been a subject of lively heated debate as to whether increasing the price of petrol can address environmental problems. While I acknowledge that this measure can be favorable to some extent, I am of the opinion that there are other sustainable and effective solutions.

On the one hand, it is reasonable that raising the cost of fuel used to power cars and other vehicles is advantageous to some extent. One of the major benefits might be the improvement in the urban's air quality. In fact, imposing higher taxes on fuel will significantly discourage people from using their private vehicles for daily commute, which in turn forces the government to upgrade and expand public transport provisions to fulfill the city dwellers' traveling demand. As a consequence, the amount of CO2 emission released from private automobiles will considerably reduce, resulting in the alleviation of air pollution.

On the other hand, the national authorities should adopt transport policies which would be more effective in a long run. The first policy would be for car manufactures to design more environmentally-friendly cars. Instead of fueling cars using traditional and limited natural sources, car production companies should invest in renewable and infinite energy sources such as solar power or hydrogen, which proportionally spares future generations the pending energy crisis. Another policy would be to raise the public's ecological consciousness. Indeed, one of government's unavoidable obligations is to instill the urgent need of protecting our environment into the psyche of each and every member of our planet. As a result, people would be fully aware of the gravity of the situation and willing to take immediate actions to prevent further environmental degradation.

In conclusion, although raising the price of petrol may be advantageous to a certain degree, I espouse the notion that other solutions would be more efficacious due to the aforementioned reasons.