Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

With surging population and urbanisation, the traffic congestion and air pollution have become pressing issues in the todays society. Most people believe that soaring petrol price is the best way to tackle these issues. Some people believe that hike in the petrol prices will reflect on the low economy residents. However, the car owners are the middle and high income people therefore still the congestion and air pollution persists. In my perspective, increasing petrol price is not only the best solution but also the other measures can be added up.

Firstly,the government can urge the citizens to use a electric car in lieu of petrol car. In addition,non motor vehicles such as bicycle would mitigate CO, CO2 emissions and global warming. Besides that the government can build SPECIAL lanes for bike riders and also government can adhere obligatory pollution levy or congestion charges. So, the money received can be leveraged to reform public transportation systems such as metro,trams etc.

Additionally,alternative to fossil fuels can be bio diesel obtained from vegetable oil or animal fat which are predominately used in USA . These bio diesels in turn reduces emissions. For instance,British train operating company have incorporated 80% petro diesel and 20% biodiesel. As a result,these naturally obtained oils could protect environment from green house emissions, bio dergradation.

To sum up, Rising fuel prices is not the optimal approach to bring down the amount of traffic congestion and pollution issues. Alternatively,other rigorous methods can be adhered to tinker the current sytem. Despite this,it is the combined effort of the government and people to guard the environment by planting more trees which will moderate the air pollution.