Help proofread on a section of my Toefl essay "teachers should attend courses every 5 years."

I wrote a short paragraph for the topic "A/D: All school teachers should be required to attend courses every 5 years to update their knowledge."

I was not sure if I got my point crossed so please help me proofread this. Thank you!!! I side with that "teachers should attend courses every 5 years."

"Primarily, taking courses regularly allows teachers to update their academic knowledge. Being teachers is special as their mission is to impart what's known in a certain field to students. They serve as the first person students turn to when encountering anything puzzled. In most cases they are capable of giving satisfactory answers with the help of their experience and knowledge base. However, there are also some situations where they are challenged. Just as the saying goes, "what we know is not much, but what we know is immense." Everyday sees new discoveries and theories. Therefore, it is critical for teachers to keep up-to-date on new research, emerging technology tools for the classroom, new curriculum resources and the like. For example, with gravitational waves detected, there is no doubt it may cause great changes to Physics syllabus. The instant success of Facebook definitely makes a good business case study. Observations sent from Mars would cast light on astronomy."