Higher education only to young top students? It has benefits, but I prefer equal opportunity

Whether or not universities should only offer to young students with highest marks?

Many people say that universities should only offer to young students with highest marks, others say they should accept people with all ages, even if they did not well. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether higher education should only provide for gifted students or extend to people of all ages despite they did not perform well. Personally, I am more convinced that people all have access to education opportunities regardless of their abilities.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people think that tertiary education only should be available to young students with good grades. Firstly, a good academic result probably reflects students' ability and determine whether or not they can fit in academic environment at college. If students have not acquired sufficient-knowledge at high school, they are possibly not qualified for higher education. Secondly, selecting outstanding students at a young age allows the governments to concentrate their resources towards the development of high quality workforce. In other words, rather than taking risks in training students of mixed abilities, the states can mobilize resources to create a more favorable learning environment with improved education quality, better research capacity and facilities for a selected group of high-potential individuals.

On the other hand, I embrace the idea that making universities accessible for everyone regardless of their age and learning capacity. The right to education is a human right, so everyone should be given freedom to enter higher education if they desire without any limitation. The benefits of university education are not influenced by their age, so there is no reason to set age requirements in college admission. Additionally, it is true that high school students take a wide range of classes. For this reason, many students may end up having poor overall results, but in some certain subjects, their marks might be extraordinary high. For example, my friend performed very badly at Natural subjects, such as Math or Physics, making her average score disappointedly low when she left high school. However, she was excellent at English and became top students when entering university. Therefore, students like my friend should be allowed to take advantage of their strengths and join in specialized courses at university.

To conclude, notwithstanding certain advantages of limiting higher education to young top students, I reaffirm the idea that opportunities should open up for everyone to enter university.