'highly motivated, self-disciplined and well-organised' - Distance learning

The number of courses offered by distance has increased a great deal over the last few years. In the past, this type of learning was sometimes called correspondence learning. The advent of the Internet as a learning medium has helped to create distance learning opportunities worldwide. However, is it really possible to learn from home? Are such courses suitable for all learners? I will examine these questions below, firstly by considering the advantages and disadvantages of learning in this mode, and then by looking at the kind of learner that suits distance learning.

A key advantage of distance learning is that learners can work at their own pace and study in the comfort of home. In addition, they can choose the parts of the course that suit their learning needs. Equally important, presentation of distance learning material through the Internet or television broadcasts can often be more interesting than classroom presentations and the content of the course can be viewed or read again and again by learners. It is also believed that there are possibilities to study at universities from all over the world by distance learning.

It is undeniable that distance learning has many advantages, but there are also many disadvantages. Firstly, not all learners are comfortable using the computer technology because distance learning these days can be difficult for people who find computers difficult to use. What is more, if the technology breaks down, learning is disrupted. Beside this, distance learning demands that learners are highly motivated and organised. However, many learners find they need a lot of guidance and cannot study independently. While classroom based courses provide opportunities for learners to meet each other and socialise, distance learners can often feel isolated. It can also be difficult for distance learners to contact their tutor to ask questions. Furthermore, they may need to wait weeks for feedback on assignments.

As shown above, to study by distance learning distance learners need to be highly motivated, self-disciplined and well-organised and have a good learning environment at home. Equally important, the learners should be good at using technology, especially computers and have a good idea about what they need to study.

In conclusion, distance learning is becoming more and more popular because of its benefits but it is not suitable for all learners. It is a good idea for universities to give options to students to choose what method to learn because students can find what is the best for them.