[IELTS Writing Task2] - Hiring people with only practical skills and not looking at their education

IN TODAY JOB MARKET, IT IS FAR MORE IMPORTANT TO HAVE PRACTICAL SKILLS THAN THEORETICAL KNOWLEDGE. IN THE FUTURE, JOB APPLICANTS MAY NOT NEED ANY FORMAL QUALIFICATIONS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

Please review the developed essay from the above topic. Happy to take feedback and thanks in advance.

practical skills instead of abstract knowledge

With the growing competition in today's job market, employers are looking for people who are having more practical skills than just abstract knowledge. Going forward, the employers may not consider any of formal educational qualifications but could look for real-time experience in their fields of study. I support the latter statement to some extent and give reasons for this.

Firstly, many educational institutes across the world, are teaching and presenting what is there in the textbooks which are written by great authors. I agree with the fact that the book content was prepared not so smoothly, but by putting a lot of effort on studying and researching their ideas. Thomas Alva Edison, for example, invented the light bulb, by doing a lot of research on different elements to use as a filament. If we study his research work, we will come to know why Tungston can only be used as the main component, but we will never know why the other materials cannot be used. It means that gaining knowledge on one side alone does not help, but knowing the other part, will minimize the time, effort and money, and this is what expected from future job seekers by employers.

Alongside, having only practical skilled workers at workplace will lead to more of an unprofessional environment. It means that people who are working in industries without any education may not know how to interact with other co-workers professionally. This professional behavior is equally important along with practical skills to keep a healthy and productive environment, and this has to ensure by the employers.

In conclusion, organizations would look for people who have not only gained practical skills but also pursued a university or diploma degree. These two qualifications are equally important for companies to maintain a healthy, professional and productive environment.