History is valuable or not. Discuss both views, give opinion

Regarding the issue of history's significance, people hold different views. While it is argued that studying the past offers no value, I believe that history is strongly beneficial.

On the one hand, it is argued that learning about history does not benefit in any meaningful way, which is reasonable in certain aspects. Firstly, being knowledgeable in history is not as highly regarded in current job market demands. In an economy driven by practical skills, history is considered unaligned with a lucrative career path, as well as less valuable for employment opportunities. For example, trending fields such as finance or computer science require data analysis and soft skills rather than historical knowledge. Secondly, studying history is perhaps not enjoyable to a number of individuals. In the present day, people are captivated by the immediate and continuous satisfaction of social media. They are interested in news and information, such as TikTok short clips and Facebook newsfeeds, therefore history has decreased significance in some people's mental lives.

On the other hand, I would agree with those who believe that history brings such valuable insights. Firstly, history encourages people to improve from existing achievements rather than starting from scratch. For example, Nikola Tesla's modern alternating current (AC) electricity supply system, developed in 1887, remains the basis for today's most modern technological devices, including computers and smartphones. By studying his work, engineers are able to innovate and enhance these technologies more effectively, saving time and resources. Without historical knowledge, it could have taken longer to reach the advancements that human civilization has achieved to this day. Furthermore, history is intertwined with personal identity. For instance, in Vietnam, learning history about different occupations fosters a deeper understanding of the sacrifices made by previous generations. Such pieces of information enhance national pride in each person.

In conclusion, although it is argued that studying the past is a waste of time, I am firmly of the opinion that historical prominents bring several significant insights.