IELT Task 2: Building function or exterior design? Which is more important?

When designing a building, the intended use of the building should be taken into account rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

building and its appearances

It is widely believed that the interior function of a building should be more significant than its outward design. Personally, I disagree with that point of view.

The first reason why the exterior of a building should be taken into consideration is that it is the appearance that creates the first impression. People are likely to go into a shopping mall with an appealing outward design first before researching what is inside. It is, therefore, not an exaggeration to say that the revenue of any shop highly depends on the prominent look of its store. The coffee shops in Ho Chi Minh city, for instance, always spent a great amount of money renting the unique location and renovating frequently to please the customer eyes.

Furthermore, I strongly believe the exterior of any building should receive more focus as it needs to be in harmony with the city it is located. There are certain requirements set by the city council when erecting a building. In Vietnam, for example, you are not allowed to construct a skyscraper in an archaic city or a model facility near a historical site. Moreover, every buiding is the representative of the city, thus, investing in the appearance is unquestionable as it will be beneficial for both the city and the building's owner. If a building has an astounding look, it is highly likely to become the symbol of the city. Sydney Opera House is the clearest example of this. This iconic of a building and the city have been so inexorably linked that we can not talk of one thing without thinking about the other.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the outlook of the building is just as significant as the its interior function.